Carl Fischer

collapse expand iconDescription

Matheson's Violin Concerto was co-commissioned by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and premiered by both orchestras. Written in three "traditional" movements (Caprice, Chaconne, Dance), the Concerto is a demanding and virtuosic composition for advanced performers.

collapse expand iconSpecs

  • Item Number: 416-41418
  • Instrumentation: 3 Flutes (3rd doubles Piccolo 1; 2nd doubles Piccolo 2), 3 Oboes (3rd doubles English Horn), 3 Bb Clarinets (2nd doubles Clarinet in Eb; 3rd doubles Bass Clarinet in Bb), 3 Bassoons (3rd doubles Contrabassoon), 4 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in C, 2 Trombones, Bass Trombone, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (3 players), Harp, Piano (doubles Celesta), Solo Violin, Strings
  • Duration: 25min 0sec
  • Format: FULL SCORE - STUDY