collapse expand iconDescription

Release Date:01/01/2004;Notes:2007 vinyl release of this amazing collection from the Soul Jazz label, subtitled the Original Sound of Funk 1960-75. It's packed with 24 gems from the likes of the Meters, Eddie Bo, Professor Longhair, the Wild Magnolias, Huey 'Piano' Smith, Dr. John, Lee Dorsey, Mary Jane Hooper, Allen Toussaint and more. Includes informative 39 page booklet with pictures and the story of New Orleans funk and the artists involved. Soul Jazz.;Track List:1. Handclapping Song - the Meters;2. Hip Drop - Explosions;3. Who's Gonna Help Brother Get Further - Lee Dorsey;4. It's Gonna Rain;5. Check Your Bucket - Eddie Bo;6. Big Chief - Professor Longhair;7. Free Single and Disengaged - Huey "Piano" Smith;8. Can I Be Your Squeeze - Chuck Carbo;9. Hercules - Aaron Neville;10. I've Got Reasons - Mary Jane Hooper;11. Gator Bait - the Gaturs;12. Get Out of My Life Woman - Allen Toussaint;13. Tell Me What's on Your Mind - Cyril Neville;14. Handa Wanda - Bo Dollis the Wild Magnolias;15. Love Lots of Lovin' - Lee Dorsey Betty Harris;16. Garden of Four Trees - Explosions;17. Dap Walk;18. Just Kissed My Baby - the Meters;19. Reborn - Marilyn Barbarin;20. Mama Roux - Dr. John;21. Natural Soul Brother - Danny White;22. Hook 'N' Sling Pt. 2 - Eddie Bo;23. Here Come the Girls - Ernie K-Doe;24. Hip-Huggin - Robert Parker
Various Artists - New Orleans Funk

Featured Articles