Skip to main content Skip to footer
Countdown to black friday, save up to 25% on select items*

Hal Leonard Sonic Cool: The Life Death Rock 'n' Roll Book

Item #: 
1274742030544144556
  • Write a Review

Sonic Cool: The Life Death Rock 'n' Roll is the history of rock as it's never been told: as the legend of a massive cultural movement, one that had meaning, but ultimately failed because it sold its s... Click To Read More About This Product

We're sorry—we no longer carry this item.

Find a similar product below or contact us for a recommendation of a great alternative.

Call: 866-498-7882 Email or Chat

Recommended Products
Overview

Sonic Cool: The Life Death Rock 'n' Roll is the history of rock as it's never been told: as the legend of a massive cultural movement, one that had meaning, but ultimately failed because it sold its soul. In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine myth in the modern world. It's the first book about rock to be written in the spirit of rock. Immense, fierce, opinionated and hilarious, Joe Harrington masterfully presents rock as a movement of near-religious proportions, against a backdrop of social factors and important events such as the invention of the guitar, the jukebox, LSD, the 12-inch phonograph record, the '70s recession, the Reagan Revolution, and the Internet. Radically egalitarian in its assessments -- towering figures such as Lennon, Dylan and Cobain stand along side lesser-known but equally influential artists like the MC5, the Misfits and Joy Division. Sonic Cool is gripping reading for anyone who ever believed in the music. Includes a 16-page black-and-white photo insert. Joe S. Harrington began writing at the age of 10, an act that provoked a rejection slip from Mad magazine. He has written about music for the several newspapers, magazines and fanzines.

FEATURES

596 pages
Size: 9" x 6"
Author: Joe Harrington
ISBN: 634028618
  • Customer Reviews
Loading....
You are changing the Ship-To country.

Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.